Vegan Coconut Mango Pudding

A taste of the tropics in a teacup!

I really keep meaning to do more dinner and main course posts. Really, I do. But my insatiable craving for sweets after dinner seems to be inspiring me more than, say, cravings for vegan stews and stir-fries.

I had a bunch of coconut milk in my fridge that needed to be used, to be fair. And I don’t know if I’ve already mentioned it, but I am borderline obsessed with coconut. When you don’t eat dairy, it really can be a godsend when you desire something creamy and fatty. So, I consume coconut in some form every day.

On that note, So Delicious coconut milk ice cream is amazing! It’s not health food, as its fat and calorie content is similar to that of regular ice cream, but it somehow has good fibre content and I find that I do not overindulge in it like I did with dairy ice cream. Plus, they have a vegan, gluten-free cookie dough flavour!

I digress. This creamy, yet firm, pudding was born of a coconut craving and inspired my decision to stop being cheap and finally buy some agar powder, which is made of seaweed and is a vegan gelatin substitute. I paid $11 for a bag of it, but it’s going to last a long time. Unless I make puddings like this every day.

Vegan pudding for dessert! Go ahead and satisfy that craving.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups full-fat canned coconut milk

1 ripe mango, peeled and cubed

2 tbsp. agave, honey or sugar (I used agave)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. agar powder

Directions:

In a saucepan, whisk coconut milk, agave, vanilla and agar powder together and bring to a boil over high heat.

Once boiling, turn heat to medium and simmer for 5 minutes, whisking every so often to make sure the agar dissolves and doesn’t get lumpy.

Combine the coconut mixture with the mango in a blender and blend until the mixture is a smooth, uniform liquid.

Pour into small bowls, or cute teacups, and chill in the fridge for an hour until firm.

Makes around 4 servings, depending on how big your bowls or teacups are. 

Coconut Mango Pudding with Strawberry and Mint

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts

3 responses to “Vegan Coconut Mango Pudding

  1. Wow the colour looks amazing. This inspires me to do a whole Mango-Menu.
    I just made a mango sauce/dressing which is sooooo good!
    http://greengladiatrix.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/salad-makeover-turns-every-salad-into-heaven-really/

    Love
    Green Gladiatrix

  2. Before you bake, to remove the surface bubbles, use a butane torch (as you would for browning the sugar on a creme brulee), and gently pop the surface bubbles. then the end result will be bubble free. I learned this trick in the hotel pastry kitchen @ Grand Hyatt. Your pudding has such good and vibrant color!

    Theresa :)

Leave a Reply

