Vegan Black Bean and Yam Enchiladas with Mole Sauce

Spicy, cheesy, creamy, rich and saucy enchiladas. Vegan, but you'd never know it!

 Enchiladas, so nice and hot! Enchiladas, I got I got!

When I went to Oaxaca, I ate enchiladas with mole for almost every meal. Not eating meat, I was pretty limited. Nevertheless, I fell in love with those cheesy, saucy morsels. Corn tortillas filled with stringy Oaxaca cheese and slathered with rich, chocolatey, spicy mole made for many a fine meal.

Intimidated by the rather daunting ingredients lists for traditional mole recipes, I never took the plunge and actually made my own. Happily, while perusing the adorable blog, Scissors and Spice, I stumbled across a recipe for easy mole, thus inspiring me to whip up some enchiladas tonight. This sauce comes together using ingredients from your pantry, which is always nice when you find yourself wondering what the heck to make for dinner.

These puppies are vegan and gluten-free, but I am pretty sure you could coax any type of -vore to have them for dinner! They are delicious, and taste even better the next day.

Saucy!

If you or your loved ones are sensitive to spice, reduce the chili powder and red pepper flakes. I found the mole spicy, but not crazy spicy.

Mole Ingredients:

1 tbsp. olive oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 a small white onion, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1 1/2 tbsp. chili powder

1 tbsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. cayenne

1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 tbsp. cocoa powder

1/2 cup Hunt’s tomato sauce (or other plain tomato sauce)

3/4 cup water

2 tsp. salt

Enchilada Ingredients:

1 large yam

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

salt and pepper

1 can black beans (I opened a 19 0z can, but did not use it all)

8 small corn tortillas

1 cup (approximately) of Daiya vegan cheese (I mixed the Mozzarella and Pepperjack flavours)

Directions:

Make the mole! Heat oil on medium-low in a medium saucepan. Add garlic, onion and bell pepper and fry until the onions are translucent. Add in spices and cocoa powder, frying for a few minutes. Stir in the water and simmer for a few minutes. Add the tomato sauce and salt. Simmer for 5-10 minutes until the sauce is your desired thickness. Blend with an immersion blender, if you wish.

Preheat oven to 350°. While mole is cooking, cook the yam. I find the easiest way is to wash it, poke holes in it with a fork, and put it in a covered bowl or wrap it in paper towel. I then microwave it on high for about 10 minutes, until it is very soft. Let the yam cool, then peel it and mash in a bowl with garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Rinse and drain black beans and set aside.

Heat the tortillas in the microwave for 1 minute, to make them more pliable and cooperative.

Assemble the enchiladas! Spoon a little mole into an 8 x 8 pyrex baking pan. Dip a tortilla in mole and fill it with a smear of yam, a spoonful of black beans, and a sprinkle of Daiya. Roll it up and smush it into the pan. Repeat until all tortillas are filled and are snugly in the pan.

Pour the remaining mole over the enchiladas, spreading evenly. Sprinkle with a little more Daiya. Cover with foil and bake for half an hour.

Serve with guacamole and Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream, if desired.

Serves 3. If feeding a family, double it!

Holy mole!

PS. Thanks to Melissa from Swapmeat for pointing out the sizing issue of my images. I tried to fix it this time around, so hopefully these photos don’t appear stretched for anyone!

16 Comments

Filed under Condiments and Sauces, Dinner

16 responses to “Vegan Black Bean and Yam Enchiladas with Mole Sauce

  1. Pingback: Chocolathon! | Veganomics 101

  2. Made these tonight and YUM! I didn’t think my kids would touch them but 3 out 4 loved them. I plan to feature them on my blog in the future.

    Thanks,
    Nancy

  3. I can’t tell you how phenomenal this recipe is. I made it the other night for my herbivorous family members and they adored it. I tried it only after everyone else had served themselves, and was surprised and delighted to be able to say I have a new favorite recipe. It’s relatively quick and easy, and tastes incredible. I made some quick guacamole to go with it, which pushed it over the top.

    I can’t stop raving about this. I’ve posted it on several other people’s blogs. I hope it earns you some hits!

    • Thank you so much! I have been craving them too… and thanks for the blog love! That might explain why I have some mysterious spikes in my graph, especially since I have been a wee bit neglectful lately!

  4. Maya, have you tried freezing these? I’m curious if they’d save well!

  5. Holy – you’ve been cooking up a storm!!! and your pictures look GREAT!! We haven’t had much time to cook recently….just the quick and fast stand-by’s. I have to try something new this weekend!

  6. Ooooohmygosh. I finally got to make these tonight. As it turns out, I never got cilantro. BUT, I did have some zucchini from the garden, so I chopped it into small cubes and sauteed it in a little bit of coconut oil with a bit of salt & pepper. Mixed it in with the black beans. Also, I made a quick homemade guac with avocado, lime juice, sea salt, and dice garden tomatoes. THESE WERE SO GOOD!!!! My husband and I both went back for seconds. Thank you so much for this amazing recipe! :D This will definitely make a regular appearance at our dinner table.

  7. Yum! This looks fabulous! (Saw your link on the Daiya Facebook page, btw. Great idea to link there.)

    How do you think this would be with some cilantro sprinkled on top as a garnish?

    Can’t wait to try these enchiladas!

    • Thanks, Laura! Well, I can tell you firsthand that they are delicious with cilantro sprinkled on top! These photos are the second photo shoot I did of these because the first batch of photos were hideous and my boyfriend wisely advised me to take more. Aaaanyway, the first ones had lots of cilantro on top. The more the merrier, I think!

Leave a Reply

