Strawberry Banana Muffins

Ultra-moist and not too sweet, these fruity muffins think they ought to be served on a sunny patio somewhere.

Baking on a hot sunny day?

Yep. I came home from work today to find three very overripe bananas in the fruit bowl and the aforementioned strawberries lolling about in the fridge begging to be used. Then I remembered that I’ve been wanting to combine these things in vegan and gluten-free muffin form. Strawberries and bananas go together, after all, like peas and carrots. Or like bananas and strawberries, really. I think they make a better team than peas and carrots.

So now that the muffins are baked, tested for taste (I ate two for my dear readers, just to make sure), and deemed moist and fruity by yours truly, I will share my recipe with you. And then return to the backyard with an apricot beer (not wheat-free, sadly).

Bananas love strawberries, and so do I.
These muffins are very moist and fruity and are best eaten fresh out of the oven. I recommend eating them within a day or two, or freezing them. Pop one one in the microwave for 20 seconds and marvel at its freshly-baked texture!
Dry Ingredients:
1 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup quinoa flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
a pinch of salt
Wet Ingredients: 
1/4 cup light-tasting oil (this time, I melted coconut oil)
3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1 tbsp. vanilla
1 tsp. lemon extract
3 overripe bananas, mashed
1 1/2 cups sliced strawberries
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375° and line a 12-muffin tin with baking cups.
Whisk all dry ingredients together in a large bowl.
Whisk all wet ingredients in a liquid measuring cup, except the mashed bananas and strawberries.
Slowly pour the wet mixture into the dry, mixing a little at a time with a wooden spoon. Stir until just combined. Do not over mix as this will result in a sad, flat muffin. The batter will be somewhat stiff; do not be alarmed.
Fold in mashed banana until the batter is uniform.
Fold in strawberries. Do not overmix.
Fill baking cups almost to the top with batter. Smooth batter with a wet finger so the muffins look pretty. Optional: place some additional sliced strawberries on top.
Bake 25-30 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Mine took 30 minutes.
Cool in pan for about 10 minutes, then transfer muffins to a cooling rack.
Enjoy!

Hi. I am full of strawberries and bananas. Soon you will be too!

Makes 12 muffins. 
8 Comments

Filed under Muffins

8 responses to “Strawberry Banana Muffins

  1. Pingback: Meatless And Delicious | Food For Thought

  2. These yums are in the oven right now and I can’t WAIT to taste them! The batter was delish, and I was actually a bit sad that I didn’t leave more in the bowl. :) Thank you for another great recipe!

    • You are most welcome Laura! I hope they turn out for you :)

      • Evidence of the turn out:

        1st dozen: made, pulled from the oven, and within three hours I’d eaten four. :) Two and a half days later: gone. Husband LOVED them, as did non-gf/vegan friends I shared them with.

        2nd dozen: just out of oven, made with blueberries this time as I’d run out of strawberries (and it’s blueberry season here!). Still hot, cooling on counter, and first one is half-way eaten already. Wonder how many I’ll eat today?! :) Thanks for a super and flexible recipe!

      • Awesome! Yep, my batch was gone within two days with just two of us eating them! I am thinking of playing around with the same recipe, but with pineapple puree instead of banana and applesauce. Thanks so much for the feedback, Laura!

      • Oh good lord. Let us know if the pineapple version works!! Might be YUMMY if you tossed in some flaked, unsweetened coconut, maybe some walnuts or pecans…ooooh now my mouth is watering! :D

  3. These muffins look INCREDIBLE. I can’t wait to try this recipe.

  4. yum. I love strawberry banana smoothies, so I bet I’d just love these! they look great!

Leave a Reply

