Karina’s Gluten-Free Vegan Plum Cake

Perfect vegan and gluten-free plum cake with cinnamon sugar topping.

The weather has turned and there is the slight scent of fall in the air. Goody, this means more baking in the Keen Kitchen!

I love plum cake. My Oma frequently serves a delightful version: Dense white cake topped with tart-sweet black plums and served  with a dollop of vanilla flavoured whipped cream. Yum. Well, after Jack picked a bunch of plums off the tree in our yard, I immediately envisioned cakes, cakes, and more cakes. And maybe a crumble for good measure.

Cake-bound plums

A lesson learned: when you start craving any sort of baked good, but need to veganize it and make it gluten-free, turn to Karina, the Gluten-Free Goddess. I know I have said this before, but it is worth repeating. The woman is a magician in the kitchen. So, I decided to not do my usual mucking around ingredient-switching thing and stuck pretty much religiously to her recipe for Gluten-free Peach Cake, using plums instead. As for the whipped cream, I served this with So Delicious Vanilla Bean Coconut Ice Cream instead. It was also pretty spectacular served unadorned. It is the super moist, dense, sweet but not overly so, cake that I desired and it suited the tart plums perfectly. I will definitely be making a few more of these with the many plums I have left over.

Anyone want to come over for coffee and a slice or two of plum cake?

So cakey and plummy.

As previously mentioned, I followed Karina’s recipe almost to a T. As such, I do not really feel comfortable rewriting her recipe. Please refer to her amazing recipe here.

Here’s what I did differently:

  • I used plums instead of peaches.
  • I mixed brown and white organic cane sugar because I didn’t have light brown sugar.
  • I used tapioca starch instead of potato starch.
  • I used virgin coconut oil instead of olive oil or shortening. I realize that coconut oil is high in saturated fat, but I love the butter-like texture and light coconut flavour it gives baked goods.
  • I used millet flour instead of buckwheat flour because I didn’t want a grainy cake.
  • I used light soy milk instead of peach juice.
  • I omitted the nutmeg because I don’t have any and am still not certain if those with nut allergies can have it. Can anyone help me with this?
  • I used apple cider vinegar for the “light tasting” vinegar.
I highly recommend this recipe. You would never know this cake is vegan and gluten-free. And thanks to the higher-fibre flours, it’s a little healthier than its wheaty counterpart.

 

A perfect vegan and gluten-free plum cake, fresh out of the oven. Recipe courtesy of Karina.

6 Comments

Filed under Desserts

6 responses to “Karina’s Gluten-Free Vegan Plum Cake

  1. Melissa

    Looks dense and awesome. If I make it I might eat thee whole thing. I’m scared!!

  2. Lovely version! I just shared your link on Pinterest.

    • Thanks so much, Karina! You’ve really inspired me to play around with my own gluten-free and vegan recipes, but this time I just really wanted a perfect plum cake, so I turned to the master. Please keep your scrumptiousness coming!

  3. Hi Maya! I have a tree full of plums right now, and your cake looks absolutely delicious!

    Nutmeg is the seed of the tropical tree species Myristica fragrans. It is not considered a nut, and according to the Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network, it is generally safe for an individual with a tree nut allergy. (See: http://www.foodallergy.org/page/tree-nut-allergy)

Leave a Reply

