‘Orange You Glad It’s Vegan’ Creamy Pumpkin Soup

Spicy. Creamy. Vegan.

Cheesy title. Groan. I am a little too giddy for my own good, for it has been a long while since I have posted a recipe! Vacation, shift work, and lack of enthusiasm are all to blame. The good news is I just got the fantastic day job I’ve been yearning for (hi, new coworkers!), and am pretty excited to come home and cook every evening after work. Oh, I also have inherited a new kitty. He is currently perched right beside me and is purring his little heart out. Love it.

Anyhow, enough about me! Let’s get to the good stuff. Like soup. My Oma had a pretty delicious sounding soup recipe kicking around and I snagged a photocopy of it. It is called “Asian Pumpkin Soup.” I have no idea where she got it, so I can’t really give anyone credit for it. I changed the ingredients quite a lot, though, as I had to omit the curry powder, cashews and whipping cream. Jack is allergic to curry powder that has turmeric in it, so I get my curry fix with thai curry paste.

I am pretty pleased with how this soup turned out. It is velvety and has a slightly sweet and tangy flavour thanks to unlikely (to me) suspects orange juice and banana. It’s also pretty spicy, so please reduce the curry paste and jalapeño if you don’t want that extra kick! Also, be careful. As I was seeding the jalapeño, some of its juice squirted into my eye. It hurt  a lot and I started panicking, thinking it would just keep hurting more. I started picturing myself with a horribly red, burnt eyeball. I started wondering how I would ever work in a place where I have to deal with the public now that I was horribly disfigured. Um, the burning stopped like five minutes later and my eye is totally fine. But please, be careful.

I really wanted to serve this with latkes for some reason. It seemed like a harvest-y combo. Has anyone ever made sweet potato latkes?

Creamy Curried Pumpkin Soup: Orange you glad I didn't say banana?

Ingredients:

1 tbsp coconut oil (or other mild-tasting oil)

1 onion, diced

1 jalapeño, seeded and minced

1 walnut-sized piece of ginger, peeled and minced

1 banana, sliced in rounds

1 tbsp red thai curry paste (use less if your paste is really spicy. Mine isn’t crazy hot. Or substitute 2 tbsp regular curry powder.)

4 cups water

2 tsp vegetable bouillon powder

2 tsp salt

1 large (796 mL)  can pure pumpkin

1 (400 mL) can coconut milk

200 mL orange juice

fresh cilantro for garnish

Directions:

Heat coconut oil on medium heat.

Add onion, jalapeño and ginger. Sauté for around 6 minutes.

Add banana and curry paste and stir until the curry coats everything evenly.

Add water, bouillon and canned pumpkin. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.

Take pot off heat and blend soup with a hand blender.

Stir in orange juice, coconut milk and salt. Taste for salt and add more if you like.

Garnish with fresh chopped cilantro.

Makes a good-sized pot of soup.

8 Comments

Filed under Soups

8 responses to “‘Orange You Glad It’s Vegan’ Creamy Pumpkin Soup

  1. Hey Maya! (Isn’t that like, the veil of illusion/reality in buddhist tradtion?)

    The title of this recipe sparked a whole range of knock knock jokes involving oranges, apples and bananas. Lol. Pretty cheesey for a vegan blog :p

    I am new to wordpress. Super excited to discover your blog! I have just created a gluten free, vegan wholefoods blog as well! (www.awkwardangel.wordpress.com)

    Only thing is, I can’t figure out how to like, subscribe? Must I do it through email? I look forward to an exchange of ideas!

    Keep up the magic! x

    • Hi Angela, thanks for your kind words! Yeah Maya seems to mean all sorts of things. As for subscribing, wordpress is a little funny. You can put a widget on your blog so that people can enter their email addresses and then receive a notification every time you do a new post. Mine is under the thing that says “The Loop.” Just click “sign me up.” I’ll be sure to check out your blog!

      • Excellent! Thanks for the guidance with that one. It does seem a little weird. More of a facebook ‘friends’ system was what I was looking for. But okay, notify away! I also noticed you have a list of other blogs/people down the side of your page… a university education isn’t helping me with this one. Haha. I’ll figure it out. Thanks again and happy cooking!

      • Don’t worry… it took me a LOT of playing around to figure stuff out. The list of blogs is a list of links I like.. you can add links by clicking the “Links” thing on the lefthand side.

  2. Pingback: Yogurt Creamy Pumpkin Soup :: In The Devil's Kitchen

  3. Gen

    I made this tonight for dinner and it was yummy! I added a bit less curry (for the spice adverse Emma) and put the cashews in for the cashew lover (Barbara).Thanks Maya!

  4. Mmmmm… Sounds so good. I make something similar but with a hit of lime juice.. I love the red Thai curry paste!! You’ve just imputed me for dinner tonight once again and maybe pumpkin pue too!!

Leave a Reply

